The Generation of Instant Gratification

My generation – commonly known as the millennial’s – lives in a world where we get things instantly (or at least quickly enough). Combinations of student overdrafts, asap food delivery services and tinder mean that whatever we want, we can have. From having pizza delivered at 3am to finding someone to have sex without actually having to meet in person, we don’t have to work for anything.

I think it detaches us from the world around us. I believe it makes us lazy.

For example, the other day I was looking at buying a new camera. I love photography, and this was a camera that I’d wanted for a long time. I was browsing on amazon, and saw one for ab0out £700. I then looked on Argos, and saw one for around £50 more, but I could pick it up there and then from my local store. I was willing to spend an extra £50, just so I could have it instantly. (I didn’t buy one in the end, I’m a broke ass student so my money goes on rent and food).

A lot of young people these days are willing to spend more money on things they can receive instantly. Nobody wants to work for something, nobody wants to actually invest their time into working towards a goal. This makes us lethargic. Working for things yourself, investing your time and money into something makes it worth so so much more.

So my challenge to you, the reader, this week is to invest your time into something. Choose something you want, and set aside £10 a month, £20 a month. The day you realise that you have enough money to buy it will be amazing, and in the time it takes you to save up, you’ll work out whether you really want it.

Stop rushing things.

‘While you’ll feel compelled to charge forward it’s often a gentle step back that will reveal to you where you and what you truly seek’
– Rasheed Ogunlaru

Leave a Reply

